Stories are all around us

I was walking through a different part of town the other day, when I looked up and saw all these shoes hanging from the utility lines. I couldn’t help pausing to wonder what the story was (or could be) behind how they got there. Who threw them up there? Why? Why this spot? How did the people feel who lost their shoes? It reminded me of a section of road on Vancouver Island where people come from all around to leave their jack-o-lanterns after Halloween is over. Will people be coming from all around to throw their old shoes to the sky or pay a kind of homage to the ones already up there?

shoes on wires

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Stories are all around us”

  1. Olympia Dumpster Divers » Blog Archive » Great Green Shoe Art Says:

    […] utility lines and wonders what the story is (so do we!). See her post with a pic of shoes on a wire HERE. Then leave a comment and tell Olympia Dumpster Divers what shoes mean to you (send your shoe […]

  2. Crafty Green Poet Says:

    gosh that’s strange…

  3. Urban Misfit Says:

    It may be an urban myth, but I have heard that shoes hanging on wires is some kind of challenge between gangs to RUMBLE!

  4. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    I haven’t heard that one, but it’s intriguing. If it’s true, I wonder whose shoes they throw up there. Seems a little pre-technology for today’s gangs, though.

Leave a comment