Fall is in the air

Technically, it’s still summer, but with many people heading back to school and the long summer drought finally ending here on the BC coast, it feels like fall has arrived. The long string of dry hot days has also turned many leaves prematurely brown.

For years after I finished high school and university, I used to get itchy feet this time of year and feel that excited flutter in my chest that comes with the anticipation of seeing old friends again, the potential of meeting new ones, and (in university years) wondering what exciting vistas new classes might be about to open for me. In more recent years, this feeling seems to have morphed into a yearning to travel in the fall โ”€to explore new places and admire fall colours in different locations.

 

autumn windโ”€
I have the sudden urge
to buy school supplies

 

park

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Fall is in the air”

  1. DustySpider Says:

    I hear you, Jacquie! Fall is my favourite time of year. I feel my creative voice getting stronger, and my energy surges. And then I start making soup. Enjoy the fall. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Yousei Hime Says:

    So true. One of my favorite things to do for school was (and is) to buy school supplies. Teachers need them too, you know. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Jacquie Says:

      As a writer, I always feel a bit of a thrill when I buy a new moleskin journal or notebook. In fact, that might be a good antidote to my unfulfilled school supply urge (though, I think it’s more the urge to start something new). Thanks for stopping by, Yousei & good luck with the new school year!

  3. julietwilson Says:

    It’s so true, even all these years after leaving Uni, September still feels like t he start of a new year. More so of course since starting to teach, even though i teach adults, the terms are still the school terms.

    • Jacquie Says:

      Also, with Rosh Hashanah and Samhain, there is some precedent for celebrating fall as the start of a new year ๐Ÿ™‚ (so, I should add: Happy New Year!)

Leave a Reply

