Trees I Have Known

Anyone else have a favourite tree from childhood? The tree in the photo is one of several Broadleaf Maples that I grew up with. Its branches have held a Tarzan swing (placed there by my dad) for over 40 years, entertaining neighbourhood kids for two generations.

The branches of one Maple reached right to my top floor bedroom window, its broad green leaves playing with sunlight in summer, rustling orange-yellow in fall –always nourishing my spirit.

Another Maple tree supported a sturdy playhouse built by my dad, with the trunk of the tree growing up through the middle of the house and offering the perfect climbing route to the playhouse roof and from there further up to where my brother later built a smaller, more precarious-looking tree house. The small tree house was like a crow’s nest at the top of a ship mast, offering views of all the neighbouring yards and the prefect retreat for hiding away with a novel or a notebook in which to scribble story ideas and secrets.

The Broadleaf Maples were like good friends throughout my childhood, and I missed them when I moved away –especially when I moved back east where Broadleaf Maples don’t grow. When I returned to the westcoast, the familiar large rounded canopies, huge leaves and companionable wind-stirred rustle called out to me like old friends, welcoming me home. They still call.

(The same tree in the 1970s –you can glimpse the treehouse my brother built in the tree behind at the bottom of the photo)

(A fall leaf from a Broadleaf Maple tree near my new house –gives you an idea of how aptly the tree is named)

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “Trees I Have Known”

  1. julietwilson Says:

    my favourite childhood tee was a sycamore at the bottom of my parent’s garden, it’s surrounded by bushes and was a wonderful place for a childhood den

    • Jacqueline Pearce Says:

      Thanks for sharing your tree experience, Juliet. I love big old sycamores (though I don’t think I met any until my adult years –there is one in our neighbourhood I like to walk by)

  2. Jean-Pierre Antonio Says:

    I remember the treehouse in your backyard. I was always jealous when I visited your place because we didn’t have one.

    However, we did have three large Gary Oaks in our front yard and one had a very low hanging branch that we used to swing from. That one tree brought more joy to my brother, sister and I than all the toys we had put together.

    When my parents sold our house the new owner had the oaks cut down. I guess he didn’t like raking the leaves in the Fall. What a tragic loss! I could never understand it.

    To trees! We love them! Jean-Pierre

    • Jacqueline Pearce Says:

      Too bad about the Garry Oaks being cut! That little island of Garry Oaks mixed with Arbutus trees (which appears on part of southern Vancouver Island and the southern Gulf Islands) is supposed to be quite unique and possibly endangered.

  3. Capodimonte Figurine Says:

    Hey, just want to let you know I enjoy the site. Keep it up.

  4. Colin Says:

    I love the picture of your daughter (?) on the swing.

    I had several trees that “nourished my spirit” as a child. Unfortunately, few of them were able to withstand my parents’ love for changing the look of our garden, the development of our neighbourhood, or outbreaks of tree fungi over the years.

    • Jacquie Says:

      Thanks, Colin. Yes, that’s my daughter on the swing (I was crouched on the ground looking up at her with the camera as she swung over me). Thanks for sharing, as well.

  5. software outsourcing belarus Says:

    Very nice picture with girl and tree!
    Thanks for sharing.

  6. Kellie Elmore Says:

    this post brings back so many great memories! I love the photography!!! I would love for you to check out my site Social Muze.🙂 We are all about art in all forms and your stuff would make such a wonderful addition! You can click on my “Creative Playground” tab on my blog to access it!🙂 I sure hope u will at least take a peak!🙂 I will be back!!!🙂

  7. Jacquie Says:

    Thanks, Kellie! A site where artists can share and collaborate sounds like a great idea (here is the link if others are interested: http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/playgroun/). I also like your blog title and concept.

  8. Rochelle Pearce Says:

    October – my favorite time of year and wonderful to be surrounded by trees of changing foliage and color. I never tire of seeing and being with trees. Also seeing pictures of different kinds of trees in various moods and settings touches me. To look out a window and not see a tree would sadden me deeply. I enjoy the group sharing.

Leave a Reply

