Graffiti variety pack

It feels like ages since I last blogged and even longer since I posted any graffiti images, so I decided to share a few of my favourite graffiti discoveries over the past few months. I heard a rumour (maybe it was a Tweet) that stencil images of the original Spock had appeared at various locations along Vancouver’s Commerical Drive. So I went down to search them out about a week ago. I walked up and down the drive between First Ave and Venables (stopping for lunch at Cafe de Soleil, candy at Dutch Girl Chocolates, etc), but no sign of Spock. It wasn’t until I gave up and headed home that I finally spotted this one at the Commerical Drive entrance to the Broadway Sytrain station:

Another image from Commerical Drive (is the crow checking out what looks like a giant bug graffitied across the dumpsters?):

In April I was cutting through the parking lot at Georgia and Cambie (proposed site for a new Vancouver Art Gallery building) and came across this shopping cart (?) art:

I liked the colour against the torquoise wall. Unfortunately, the cart wasn’t there the last time I walked through the lot.

And finally, these last two images are of knitted graffiti that I stumbled upon on a visit to a Gabriola Island beach in March (my first live sighting of yarn bombing!):

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Graffiti variety pack”

  1. Heather Says:

    Oooh, I really like that shopping cart. Nice to get a taste of gritty, witty Vancouver – and a reminder of Dutch Girl licorice!

Leave a Reply

