Visitors

I was looking out my bedroom window this morning at the chickadees flitting from branch to branch in the nearby ravine trees, wondering why they haven’t yet found (or are ignoring) the two new birdfeeders we put up earlier this week. Then, something caught my eye in the middle of one of the larger cedar trees, and I spied these guys:

(Four of them)

Tags: , ,

11 Responses to “Visitors”

  1. Yousei Hime Says:

    I don’t think they are visitors, more like neighbors. Those things are cute, but can be a lot of trouble. If you feed your cat (or anything else) outside, they will eat the food. Enjoy them, but watch those rascals.

  2. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    I wasn’t sure if this group was staying or just passing through. Their mother (?) eventually led them down the tree, past our yard and further up the ravine (they looked so cute lumbering single file through the underbrush). We’ve had raccoons knock over our garbage cans and trail garbage around our yard a few times since we moved here (have since raccoon-proofed the cans), and our dog had a tangle with a raccoon one night a few weeks back (didn’t get a good look at it, but somehow imagine it to have been a big thug compared to these cute little ones). They can definately be a nuisance, but I enjoy having them around.

  3. Hiruta Says:

    Jacqueline San,

    wild life is always lovely, if it were not for any trouble.
    I happened to find such a wild life in migrating birds, swans, not raccoons.
    I’m going to post my haiku and photo of the swan on my blog ‘Akita haiku’ on December 22.
    And I also post about the swans on the website ‘Akita International Haiku Network’ on January 2, 2010.
    Please check them out.
    Lastly, I hope we’ll be able to enjoy our lives with wild life.

    With my best wish,
    Hidenori Hiruta

  4. Tacy Says:

    So cute! Just be sure they don’t get into your trash can! πŸ˜€

  5. Yousei Hime Says:

    Just stopping in to say “Hi” Hadn’t heard from you in a while. Hoping your doing well. Eyes better? Office coming along? Wishing you the best. πŸ™‚

  6. Jacquie Says:

    Hi Yousei. Funny you should stop by today, as I was just thinking about you and how it’s been awhile since I visited your blog. As soon as I get my computer fixed and reestablish Internet access I’ll try to get something new posted here (right now I have to go on my daughter’s computer to get the Internet, which isn’t ideal).

    The raccoons haven’t been back, by the way (I guess they were just passing through). No new wildlife sightings around our house, except for the yipping of coyotes late one night at the end of December.

  7. Jacquie Says:

    P.S. The chickadees did finally find the feeder (but only did so a couple weeks ago)

  8. Yousei Hime Says:

    Still struggling with computer issues? Just thought I’d check in and say Howdy. My laptop died, and we lost all the data–a lot of family photos. I am reacquainting myself with backup procedures. Sigh.

  9. Jacquie Says:

    Sorry to hear you lost the photos! Yes, I am still struggling with computer issues. My husband tried to download something on his computer that would get the virus off of mine, and his computer ended up getting infected with a worse virus!

    On another note, however, the raccoons are back (or more likely they’ve been here all along and we just didn’t realize). We went out on our deck after dark last night, and several raccoons started chattering at us from a nearby fir tree.

  10. David Banks Says:

    Cute, but they’re murder on ponds…. At least they aren’t skunks.

  11. absurdoldbird Says:

    We don’t have raccoons here (I am in Wales, UK) so it’s lovely to see these photos. I find a world outside my own world from other people’s blogs. I’ve added yours to my feed reader and look forward to reading more of your posts.
    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

