Skateboard haiku challenge

In honour of poetry month, I’ve been asked to start off the skateboard haiku challenge over at the blog of Darby Speaks.

I haven’t had a lot of time for writing anything this month, as I’m busy preparing for a trip to Japan. I leave in a few days. Once there, I’ll be talking about my books and Canada to five different groups, plus touring around and doing research for a possible future book. I hope I wont be too distracted and full of new ideas to start back in on finishing off my current novel when I get home again.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to post photos while I’m away, but I’ll try to at least post a few updates.

In the mean time, the cherry blossoms are finally out here (about a month behind)! I’ve got to enjoy them while I can, as they’ll already be finished in Japan.

blossoms_09

Tags:

3 Responses to “Skateboard haiku challenge”

  1. J-P Antonio Says:

    I’m pretty sure that you’ll find lots to inspire your writing in Japan. Last weekend I went for a drive in the country and came across a troop of monkeys on the edge of a rice field. Scenes like that, which are different from the nature in Canada, always give me a jolt. I look forward to seeing what you’ll create with the material you gather here.

    Bon Voyage! Jean-Pierre Antonio

  2. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    I’d love to see monkeys in the wild! I don’t think I’ve read any classic Japanese haiku involving monkeys. Have you? I’d also love to see a tanuki…

  3. Rochelle Says:

    I’m reading your blog after the fact but I passed a boy skateboarding when out walking and got this image.

    Thrusting swinging leg
    flying boy on coloured board
    acceleration

Leave a Reply

