Unexpected haiku

eagle1

 

pigeons scatter

above the Metrotown Mall

an eagle soars

 

 

 

(Huge birds of prey circling over the city never seize to amaze me, and their presence seems to add a special significance to the day. Yet, I seldom see anyone else stop and look up)

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Unexpected haiku”

  1. Crafty Green Poet Says:

    I think its an amazing sight too, I’m also surprised how few other people look at anything from the natural world, i get strange looks when I’m observing nature in the city, even if its really obvious and impressive what I’m looking at…

  2. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    Sometimes I actually point things out to people, and they glance at whatever I’m looking at, then look at me as if I’m wierd or they couldn’t care less. Other times, however, I share a moment of appreciation with a stranger. Once I was in a Toronto subway station and heard the sound of dripping water coming from the dark subway tunnel. Somehow it had a lyrical rainforesty sound. I met the eyes of a scruffy-looking street person man, who cocked his head to one side and smiled as if he heard it the same way. I probably would have forgotten the moment if it weren’t for the unlikely connection made with the stranger.

  3. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    Well, I had four eagles pointed out to me today! I was cutting across the field of a nearby school on my way to do a book talk there when a teacher who was out on the field with her class alerted me to the four birds circling high above the school. I was impressed that she noticed them and that she stopped what she was doing to admire them with her students.

  4. Heather Says:

    I really hope you can come and visit here on Lasqueti this summer. Of course we are overwhelmed by nature here, and part of the problem is “can’t see the trees for the forest”! I spend way more time than is practical enjoying at the birds in our yard, and seeing how they connect with all that is going on in the surrounding trees. I did see a lizard on the path yesterday, the first one I think I have ever seen outside of a pet store.

  5. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    I’d love to visit Lasqueti! Lizards are one of my favourite amphibians. I saw one (or a gecko?) on a window sill in Japan last time I was there. I think it’s supposed to be good luck to have one in your house (?). Another place I’ve seen lizards (or at least their relatives) in the wild is at a little lake off a logging road between Lake Cowichan and Port Renfrew (on Vancouver Island). The lake is known as “Lizard lake” and is full of little brown swimming salamanders.

    (No eagle sightings today)

Leave a Reply

