More wet stuff

Yesterday was a rainy day sandwiched between two rare sunny days. Unfortunately, I was stuck inside on the sunny days and was out and about on the rainy day. As I left the house, giant wet snowflakes were coming down. By the time I got to Commerical Drive and downtown Vancouver, there was just giant wet. I still ended up enjoying myself — perhaps because haiku kept happening (and creating anything always puts me in a good mood), and perhaps because I was still feeling high from good news I received the day before.

The haiku:

rain_bus-window2

 

 rain on bus windows

 blurrs neon and car headlights

 into Christmas colours

 

 

 

 

 

buildings, sidewalk, street

everything is cloaked in gray

except a red coat

 

The good news:

My first picture book story has been accepted by Orca Book Publishers (for publication in Fall 2010)!!

 

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “More wet stuff”

  1. kcdyer Says:

    Congratulations on the Orca story, Jacquie!!!!

    Woohoooooooo!!!!!!

    ~karen

  2. cynthia Says:

    Jacquie,

    your blog is so enjoyable to read. It’s like taking a tour around the city and seeing everything through your sensitive and thoughtful perspective. Your haiku are so restorative to my soul. I love today’s one starting “rain on bus windows”. It is very beautiful.
    cynthia

  3. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    Thanks KC and thanks Cynthia for your encouraging comments! So glad my haiku touched someone.

  4. Rochelle Says:

    A haiku for you

    What wonderful news
    perseverance does pay off
    in glowing results

    I agree very much with what Cynthia, above, shares.

Leave a Reply

