Unhappy surprise

Well, this has been a crazy busy fall. Not only have I been preparing for the launch of my new book, which is a week away, and the unveiling of my new web site (coming soon!), I’ve been helping organize the Children’s Writers and Illustrators of BC (CWILL BC) Fall Book Harvest (unfortunately, the event has been cancelled due to the ongoing city workers strike), working on a history project at my daughter’s school, today sent off four poems to an anthology of hockey poetry for kids (cross my fingers that at least one will be accepted), and next week I’ll be guest blogger on Orca Publishers website.

To top everything off, yesterday I found out that the house I’m living in has been sold (and I didn’t even know it was for sale!). I received the info, not from my landlord, but from a member of the work crew that showed up in my yard ready to dig up soil samples for the developer who just bought the property and the two adjoining ones. Yes, the house and yard where we have lived for the past ten years is about to be destroyed to make way for a big condo development. I knew this would likely happen eventually, but I guess I’d niavely thought we might have a few years left, so the news was a bit of a shock. Our house is old, in need of repair and wont be a great architectural loss when it is torn down (though it will be hard for us to find another place that is comparable in terms of space, privacy, convenience, the allowance of pets, affordability, etc), but it will be a big loss to see all the trees go. We have a huge yard that is full of mature trees and bushes (including several that we planted ourselves when we moved in). As my daughter says, I don’t care about the house, but I’m going to feel bad about the trees. It’s also disconcerting not knowing exactly when we’ll have to leave or where we’re going to live when we do.

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Unhappy surprise”

  1. Crafty Green Poet Says:

    Gosh that’s awful! I hate when developers move in on property without properly informing the people who live there – I also hate when they chop down trees. Hope you find a new place without too many problems.

  2. J-P Antonio Says:

    OH NO! It’s time to make an offering to the real-estate gods. I hope you find a new home and the move won’t be too stressful. It’s hard to go through years of collected possessions and have to choose which ones stay and which ones go. Maybe a good time to become a budhist and break away from attachments.

    best of luck, Jean-Pierre

  3. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    Thanks for the commiseration. I’ve always liked the philosophy of non-attachment (re. inanimate things), but at the same time I also like to save things that might prove useful later. As a result, I have a lot of stuff (potential art supplies, old clothes I’ve been planning to renovate, etc. — not to mention many, many books) that I don’t want to throw away. However, the new owner doesn’t get possession of our house until April, so I do have several months in which to work on paring down and passing on my 10 years accumulation of extra “stuff.” Also, plenty of time to get used to the idea of moving, I suppose.

  4. lamarguerite Says:

    Hello,

    Happy Blog Action Day! In honor of Blog Action Day, I just started this new section in my blog, called Blogacts, for blogging + activism. I would like to invite you to be a guest blogger on my blog, and write about one of your blog acts, something you did or are planning to do, involving both writing in your blog, and following up with some kind of activist gesture in your community. Of course, I would link the post back to your site!

    let me know if that is something you would like to do, I would certainly feel honored if you did.

    marguerite
    http://lamarguerite.wordpress.com

  5. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    Blog Acts: very cool!

    I can’t take Marguerite up on this invitation right now, but I hope others will check out her blog and feel inspired to blogact. Once my current busy period is over, I’ll try to get back to the idea and follow up on the inspiration…

    Jacquie

  6. Rochelle Says:

    Moving is a major decision but when it comes upon you by no choice of your own, it’s a double whammy!
    Moving has possibilities though and new happenings in the future.
    It also presents the down-to-earth activity of de-cluttering and the necessity of going through all your belongings. That’s positive although time consuming.
    Then there’s those of us who would like to move but for many reasons are unable to.
    Life is unpredictable, sometimes a surprise and always open to the unexpected. Good luck in your move!

Leave a Reply

