Small is beautiful

In a comment left on my July 27th post about holiday Artist Trading Cards (ATCs), Jean-Pierre suggests that ATCs are “sort of haiku-ish, because of the brevity. I bet Basho would trade art cards with you if he were alive today.”

This is an interesting thought. Both haiku and ATCs can focus attention on a single moment or image that some how points to something more. There is something in that little word/visual image that can resonate with readers/viewers on some personal level. When you discover a haiku or an ATC that stirs you, it’s like being handed a tiny, special present.

Here are a few more of my ATCs:

Artist Trading Cards

And in keeping with the “small is beautiful” theme (and with a nod to E.F. Schumacher, author of the same-named book on creating local economies), here are a few more one-inch buttons:

more
(and the kid on the second button? That’s me, about age 2 — life was good!)

3 Responses to “Small is beautiful”

  1. Crafty Green Poet Says:

    Lovely selection of ATCs – yes they are like haiku, I hadn’t thought about it like that before!

  2. Rochelle Says:

    The buttons are small but they remind me of the saying, “a picture is worth a thousand words”.
    I received one with a picture of my mother on it and it evoked so many memories for me.
    The time it takes to create one is appreciated.

  3. button art and my crafty past « wild ink Says:

    […] the magazine’s “green” theme (you can see a close-up of a few of them in this August post), and in the process was reminded of the larger buttons I used to collect when I was a kid. When I […]

Leave a Reply

