First snow drops

snow dropspicking up garbage

in my yard, I discover

first blooming snow drops

3 Responses to “First snow drops”

  1. floatingclouds Says:

    Beautiful. What are snow drops…I have never seen them?
    Jodi

  2. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    Snow drops are a small white flower (see photo) that grows from a bulb. They are the first flowers to come up in the spring here (not indigenous, but I’m not sure where they come from originally). I guess they don’t grow everywhere. When I was living for awhile in Central Canada, I mentioned them to a friend, and he thought I’d made them up. One other place I know they do grow is Scotland, as http://www.craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com of Edinburgh recently posted some snowdrop haiku on her blog.

  3. Crafty Green Poet Says:

    Hi Jacquie
    Thanks for the link. Snowdrops are indigenous to Scotland (I think!). Lovely flowers! Your photo and haiku here are lovely.

Leave a Reply

