Another wet coast day

English BayYesterday, after what felt like weeks of rain, it was surprisingly sunny and warm, and I was stuck inside all day (my only outing, to the dentist). Today, I had a meeting in English Bay, where I was hoping to linger, walk around and enjoy the scenery, and it was raining again. To make things worse, I sat on a wet bus seat on the way there, and had a cold, damp bum the whole time I was out. But I’m not really complaining (at least not too much). It takes more than rain to ruin an outing to English Bay. A tall soy hot chocolate and an ocean-view chair in Starbucks also goes a long way to assuaging the situation (as well as providing the opportunity to jot down a haiku without getting wet).

Fall in Vancouver

gray sky and rain, depressing

if not for tree light

EnglishBaytrees

(note: check out the haikus and thoughts shared in the comments)

6 Responses to “Another wet coast day”

  1. Shelley Hrdlitschka Says:

    Jacquie,
    I was thinking the same thing about Fall trees. At least we have them in the fall. It’s the winter months that are really bleak, until the crocus heads poke through the soil.
    Congratulations are your new book!
    Shelley

  2. Craftygreenpoet Says:

    So like Edinburgh at the moment, though often Edinburgh is bright and sunny in autumn.

  3. J-P Antonio Says:

    I have a solution for a rainy day in haiku form inspired by a misty day in Ise last week.

    Around the hot pot
    Beautiful flames are rising
    Tofu is cooking

    Anything hot to warm the insides (and wet bums!) is perfect on a damp autumn day.

    Jean-Pierre

  4. Rochelle Says:

    When I was a young girl on holiday in Vancouver, my mother would take me to English Bay to swim. This memory is of a warm, sunny day with sunlight sparkling on the water and the smell of vinegar on chips from the beach concession. Perhaps this memory will warm you.

    Beauty of Seasons
    each bring wonders of their own
    for all to savour

  5. Jessica Says:

    I totally came across your page by mistake but I am so glad that I did. My passion is photography and your scenery photos blow me away! I love them, autumn is my favourite time of year so I am that much more captivated.

    Great Job

  6. Jacqueline Pearce Says:

    Thanks everyone for your “warm” responses!

    Jacquie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

