Potholes on the journey

Although I’ve confessed to liking birthdays, what I don’t like about getting old is the memory potholes. You know, you walk into a room and forget what it was you went in there to do, you forget the name of someone you work with, etc.

The other day, I went all the way to the downtown library to pick up a book I’d placed on hold. I got to the library, dropped off some books I’d finished with, found a chair to sit down and jot some notes about the next scene in my story, which I’d been thinking about on the way to the library, then I left. I got all the way home before realizing I hadn’t picked up the hold book. (Ironically, the book I forgot to pick up was “The Memory Keeper’s Daughter” by Kim Edwards)

But I did take these photos by the Stadium Skytrain station. I liked the juxtaposition of the living trees against the built walls, but also the way the walls have a kind of organic look with their layers and colours, and the tree with the peeling bark has the look of a wall covered with peeling advertising posters.

green wall brick wall

2 Responses to “Potholes on the journey”

  1. Heather Says:

    That is so funny! (Well, slightly tragic, but mostly funny.) Now I know what to call those lapses that I increasingly have – memory potholes! And the pictures are great! You have inspired me to take my camera with me when I go out.

  2. floatingclouds Says:

    Lately, I have been misplacing glasses, keys, etc. I’ve also stepped and sat on a few pairs of eye glasses. And, yes, spacing out on coworkers names. I have never, ever done this before. Have always been a very focussed person. Gee, I was going to say some wisecrack about this, but I lost my train of thought.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

